All Library locations will be closed at 1pm on Wed, Dec 24, and all day Dec 25 for Christmas. We will re-open for regular hours on Fri, Dec 26.
Looking for something to read, watch, or listen to? Explore our download and streaming resources and share with friends.
X
Connect with the Library:

Friday Night Book Club: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

Friday, August 29 - 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Location: Main Library
Audience: Adults

gileadFriday Night Book Club is for those interested in reading and discussing fiction written or translated within the last twenty years.The group generally meets on the final Friday of the month at 5:30 p.m. in Meeting Room 5 with discussions led by library staff members. Friday Night Book Club is a social event where readers will have a chance to network and socialize before the discussion begins. Refreshments will be provided. This month the club will discuss “Gilead” by Marilynne Robinson.

About the book

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America’s heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson’s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows “even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order” (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

New members are always welcome! Please email burrows@portland.lib.me.us or call the Reader’s Advisory desk at 871-1700, ext. 705, if you have any questions about the group. This program is free and registration is preferred.