11/20/20: Use these quick links to find PPL Services during COVID19.
PPL To Go: How to pickup your requests and book appointments if needed.
Public computers and PPL Printing To Go are available at the Main Library on Congress St.
COVID19 Resources: Find trusted information and city/state updates, with some information available in many languages.
X

Read Your Mind: The Stepping Off Place

Wednesday, November 25 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm
Location: Zoom Webinar
Audience: Teens, Teen Reads, Teen Events, Teen Health, Parents & Teachers

November’s featured book is The Stepping Off Place by Maine author Cameron Rosenblum. Cameron will be interviewed by fellow Maine YA author Gillian French. Community guests will be The Center for Grieving Children and The Yellow Tulip Project.

Register for this Zoom Webinar:

https://networkmaine.zoom.us/webinar/register/5016045217335/WN_MAJsxFmPQK-_bwcrPuB07Q

Content warning: Topics discussed in this series include anxiety, depression, suicide, self harm, and other sensitive mental health topics. Support resources will be provided at the beginning and end of each session, and on the PPL and LPL websites. If you are in need of immediate support, call Maine Crisis Services 1-888-568-1112 or text NAMI Maine’s Teen Support Line at (207) 515 – 8398.

About the Book: from debut author Cameron Kelly Rosenblum comes a stunning teen novel that tackles love, grief, and mental health as one girl must process her friend’s death and ultimately learn how to stand in her own light. Perfect for fans of All the Bright Places and We Were Liars.

It’s the summer before senior year. Reid is in the thick of Scofield High’s in-crowd thanks to her best friend, Hattie, who has been her social oxygen since middle school. But summer is when Hattie goes to her family’s Maine island home. Instead of sitting inside for eight weeks, waiting for her to return, Reid and their friend, Sam, enter into a pact–to live it up, one party at a time. But days before Hattie is due home, Reid finds out the shocking news that Hattie has died by suicide. Driven by a desperate need to understand what went wrong, Reid searches for answers. In doing so, she uncovers painful secrets about the person she thought she knew better than herself. And the truth will force Reid to reexamine everything.

You can purchase a copy of The Stepping Off Place from our local partners at Print: Bookstore.

About the Authors:

CAMERON KELLY ROSENBLUM grew up in southern Connecticut and has loved stories in every form all her life. She studied English Literature at Kenyon College and earned her M.Ed. from Lesley University. After teaching in the classroom for a while, she scored the amazing job of children’s librarian, which keeps her immersed in great books constantly. She lives with her husband and children in southern Maine with two dogs, a cat, and two rabbits her daughter talked her into after she’d been away at summer camp for three weeks. The Stepping Off Place is her first novel.

GILLIAN FRENCH holds a BA in English from the University of Maine, and is a member of the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance, the Mystery Writers of America, and Sisters in Crime. She still lives in her native state of Maine with her husband and three young sons, where she’s perpetually agonizing over her next novel (in the best possible way, of course!). Her debut novel, Grit, was an Indie Next List pick, a Junior Library Guild Selection, received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and ALA Booklist, was an Edgar Award Finalist, a South Carolina Young Adult Book Award Finalist, and received both a 2018 Lupine Award from the Maine Library Association and a 2018 Maine Literary Award from the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance.


 

About the Series » Read Your Mind: Teen Mental Health Series

Read Your Mind: Exploring Mental Health in Teen Books is a monthly, virtual series focusing on teen mental health & wellness. Featuring YA authors and community health experts, we hope to explore complex and common health concerns through the vehicle of Teen books. 

All Read Your Mind sessions:

  • Will take place live on Zoom, the last Wednesday of every month @ 12 PM*;
  • Focus on a particular and unique youth mental health topic;
  • Feature authors of fiction and nonfiction books for teens;
  • Feature a community support partner with expertise in the mental health topics covered in each book;
  • Will leave time for anonymous audience Q&A;
  • Are intended for teenagers and adults who work with teens;
  • Will be recorded and made available for future viewing.

For information on individual events, please see the calendar entries below. We’ll be adding more events as the school year continues so check back soon!

The Read Your Mind series is brought to you by a partnership between the Portland Public Teen Library, the Lewiston Public Teen Library, Print: A Bookstore, and many local community partners who work with young people. Visit Print Bookstore if you would like to purchase any of the books featured in this series.

Questions about this series can be sent to teens@portlib.org.